National and International Awards

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is an honor bestowed by the President of the United States to individuals in science and engineering who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the fields of behavioral and social sciences, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, and physics. The 12-member Presidential Committee on the National Medal of Science is responsible for selecting award recipients and is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Academia Europaea (Foreign Member)

The Academia Europaea elects as members scientists and scholars of international distinction, irrespective of nationality, gender, location, or discipline. The primary criterion for membership is “sustained academic excellence in the candidate’s field.” Persons normally resident and working in Europe are elected as Ordinary Members. Persons “not normally resident in Europe but possessing in outstanding measure the qualities and attributes ordinarily necessary for membership” may be elected as Foreign Members.

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellows

Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. Candidates must apply to the Guggenheim Foundation in order to be considered in either of these competitions.

Humboldt Research Award

The Humboldt Prize, also known as the Humboldt Research Award, is an award given by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to internationally renowned scientists and scholars. The award is granted, in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date, to academics whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and who are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements in the future.

Wolf Prize

The Wolf Prize is awarded to outstanding scientists and artists, irrespective of nationality, race, color, religion, sex or political views, for achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples.

E.L. Quarantelli Award

The E. L. Quarantelli Award for Social Science Disaster Theory is given in recognition of "notable and significant theoretical work to a social scientist studying disaster phenomena."

Merit Award (National Institutes of Health)

The overall objective of the Method to Extend Research In Time (MERIT) Award program is to provide productive investigators with a history of exceptional talent, imagination, and with a record of preeminent scientific achievements the opportunity to continue making fundamental contributions of lasting scientific value.