2013 Awards

The entomopathogen Beauveria bassiana as a beneficial endophyte in cotton
Gregory A. Sword, Department of Entomology, Texas A&M
Patricia Taméz Guerra, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (FCB-UANL)

Power-Efficient High-Performance Sigma–Delta Digitizers with Decimating Filter for Wireless Communication Systems
Jose Silva-Martinez, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M
Gordana Jovanovic Dolecek, Instituto Nacional de Astrofisica, Optica y Electronica (INAOE)

Alloy nanocatalysts with porous structures for fuel cells
Perla B. Balbuena, Department of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M
Omar Solorza Feria, Avanzados del Instituto Politécnico Nacional, (CINVESTAV)

Poorly crystalline nanoparticles formed in acid mine drainages and their effects on arsenic speciation, transformation, and transport in a limestone environment
Youjun Deng, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences, Texas A&M
Maria Aurora Armienta, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)

Developing genetic markers to assess population structure, connectivity, effective population size, and genetic traceability of Gulf red snapper (Lutjanus campechanus) in Mexican and U.S. waters of the Gulf of Mexico
John R. Gold, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences, Texas A&M
Axayacatl Rocha-Olivares, Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada (CICESE)

Next-Generation genomic tools for management and conservation of wild and domestic stocks of the channel catfish Ictalurus punctatus, an important aquaculture species in Southern U.S. and Northeast Mexico
Luis A. Hurtado, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences, Texas A&M
Gaspar Manuel Parra Bracamonte, Instituto Politécnico Nacional (IPN)

Ecology and epidemiology of Chagas Disease across a Transnational Gradient
Sarah Hamer, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, Texas A&M
Virgilio Bocanegra Garcia, Instituto Politécnico Nacional (IPN)

Torrefaction of Agricultural Biomass for Enhancing the Energy Content of Fuels Utilizing Global Warming CO2 gas
Devesh Ranjan, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M
Victor Hugo Rangel Hernandez, University of Guanajuato (UGTO)

Development of Phage Cocktail for Prophylaxis of Travelers’ Diarrhea
Ryland F. Young III, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Texas A&M
Gabriel Guarneros-Peña, Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados (CINVESTAV)

Reducing the Dependence on Fishmeal by using Plant Protein Feedstuffs in the Diets of Sciaenid Species for Enhanced Aquacultural Production
Delbert M. Gatlin III, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences, Texas A&M
Martin Perez-Velazquez, University of Sonora (UNISON)

Special Research Program

Social selection and functional constraints on morphological diversification in Xiphophorus fishes
Gil Rosenthal, Department of Biology, Texas A&M
Guillermina Alcaraz Zubeldia, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)

PET- and PDT-based Approaches for Diagnostics and Treatment of Melanoma In Vivo
Kevin Burgess, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M
Eduardo Peña Cabrera, Universidad de Guanajuato (UGTO)