Volunteer for Committee Service

The Vice President for Research is the institutional official who appoints members of the Institutional Review Board (IRB), the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) and the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) consistent with federal requirements. These research compliance committees deliver oversight, evaluation, and assurance of compliance in certain fields of research.

Members are generally appointed to 3-year terms unless circumstances dictate otherwise. The committee members serve as positive, professional examples of adherence to principles and ethics in their respective fields. The committees are currently full, but those interested in volunteering for future service on a compliance committee may do so by completing a Membership Application Form. To learn more about being a member of a research compliance committee and to obtain a membership form, send an email to outreachrcb@tamu.edu and specify the committee of interest (IACUC, IBC, or IRB).