Vice President for Research

Glen A. Laine, Regents Professor and holder of the Wiseman-Lewie-Worth Chair in Cardiology, served as head of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Texas A&M University for 20 years and director of the Michael E. DeBakey Institute for Cardiovascular Science and Biomedical Devices for 17 years. In addition to his role as department head, he was associate dean for graduate studies for five years.

While continuing to teach, he maintained extramural grant support for 35 years, generating approximately 150 publications in peer-reviewed basic science, medical, engineering, and education journals. Dr. Laine has been an established investigator of the American Heart Association. Dr. Laine served as convener of the  academic department heads for five years and served as the designated department head for the Interdisciplinary Faculty of Toxicology. He served on the Vision 2020 and Academic Master Plan Committees and was a member of the Faculty Senate.

As Vice President for Research Dr. Laine serves as the University’s Institutional Official. He was selected by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to serve as a resident university administrative fellow in Austin and is principal investigator on a 2013 -18 Texas Emerging Technology Fund grant to link Texas A&M and the Texas Heart Institute in Houston through a cardiac research collaboration.

Dr. Laine received his doctorate in physiology and biophysics with a minor in biomedical engineering from Texas A&M’s College of Medicine. His emphasis on teaching elevated the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Texas A&M to Top 10 status nationally. He has received the Association of Former Students’ Distinguished Achievement Award in Research and serves as a reviewer for 17 national journals.